Taking a Break

After a good push to get the second draft of my novel Blood Feud done, I feel a need to stop and take a breather. Mostly because I’m feeling a bit worn out and feeling the edge of burned-out creeping up on me. That’s the last thing I need, so I’ve decided to take a break from my novel and catch up on other things. One of those things is my blog. I already moved it from Blogger to WordPress (as you probably already noticed). That was a big step for me. One I’ve been putting off for awhile. I’m glad I made the change though. I really do love WordPress better. It’s so much more versatile.

Anyways, I will be taking the time to do more posts on my blog. Don’t be surprised to see two or more posts a week for awhile. Yes, I know that’s a epidemic for me. It’s something I never saw myself doing EVER.  Hold on while I look out my window to see if pigs are flying. Nope. No pigs. Yet.

Other things I would like to get to are some short stories that have been collecting dust for awhile. Heck, I might even find the urge to write a new story. Ha! Now wouldn’t that be great. And then there is all the reading I need to catch up on. I have books lying about that I’ve purchased and never read. Maybe I can put a dent in that pile.

One thing I have been doing EVERY DAY since I stopped writing on my novel is to free write. Even if only for ten minutes, I pull out my notebook and just vomit all over the page. I think that one action has been the most helpful in sparking back the writing bug. It’s allowed me to just throw crap down and get rid of some of that clutter in the brain. It’s very cathartic. You should try it some time, if you don’t already.

4 thoughts on “Taking a Break

  1. U have a cool blog over here. I just wanna say thanks for all the interesting info on it. I’ll follow your site if you keep up the good work!

    • Glad you are liking it. I plan on updating at least once a week for awhile with different topics, including writing exercises, some good writing books I’ve found, and other things writers might find helpful. I hope you will enjoy!

  2. My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was totally right. This post truly made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

Comments are closed.