Getting Back into the Groove

After a very intense year of writing the first and second draft of my novel Blood Feud, and about six other short stories, I decided it was time to take a break from my intense everyday writing schedule. I did this to prevent a super crash burnout and to spend more time with my son before he started kindergarten. Well, he started kindergarten last week. I cried. I felt lost and broken because my one and only child began the daily journey of public education. Now it’s time for me to move on, and seize the opportunity of more time, putting it to good use.

What’s next? Over the summer I had two writers look over the second draft of Blood Feud. I got some really great comments back about it and now I have a good idea of where to go next. I found that while my characters were rich and my story full of emotional drive, the story lacked a distinct clarity. Since the novel takes place in an alien galaxy, I’ve had to make up a lot of things from scratch. I knew that I had only managed this in small amounts and the feedback from my readers confirmed this. So my goal before beginning my third draft of Blood Feud… work on world building and back story to create a richer more vivid and engaging story.

While there were other things that my readers pointed out, I have decided to focus on one thing at a time. So for the foreseeable further I will be doing loads of research, lots of graphs, charts, and timelines, and just a lot of non-writing stuff for a time. It sucks. I’d rather be actually writing (or rewriting) Blood Feud, but I have been putting off the research too long. Now I have a good solid idea on who my characters are, what they want, and the story as a whole, it’s time to do the dirty work. If you wonder where I’m at the next few weeks, I will be at my laptop, at the library, and anywhere else I need to go to get this done. Time to roll up my sleeves and dig deep into the mud!

