It’s NaNoWriMo Again!

??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????It’s the time of year when the weather gets cold, the days get shorter, and the leaves become a brilliance of color. It’s a time of pumpkin carving, hot chocolate, and ghost stories. And it’s also time for NaNoWriMo to begin again.

I’ve been taking part in NaNoWriMo on an unofficial capacity for the last four years. I say unofficial, because I don’t follow the regular rules of NaNoWriMo, which requires a newly plotted novel to write on. I usually use pieces of work I already have in progress. For one year I wrote on four different short stories I had in the works. The other two years I worked on already started novels. This year I will be working on completing the third draft of my novel Blood Feud.

Why would a person even bother participating in NaNoWriMo, if not doing the challenge officially? Sure. I can stop what I’m doing and write on about three other novels I have ideas for, but then I’d lose the momentum on the novel that I am writing. Also, it takes a lot of preparation to get ready before NaNoWriMo even starts, and my heart just isn’t in plotting a different book, it’s with the one I’m writing now.

Why do NaNoWriMo at all, officially or unofficially? I do it for two reasons: One, because I enjoy the challenge that comes with the spirit of NaNoWriMo, and I hope it will be a push to finish the third draft of my novel. Two, because I have a network of writing colleagues that are committing to NaNoWriMo this year, and it’s so much fun to be apart of a high energy atmosphere as each person encourages the other to reach NaNoWriMo goals. It’s certainly a great way to push past any barriers that might be blocking the way, and it makes reaching a goal easier when a whole team of people are cheering in the wings.

My goal for NaNoWriMo… to complete the edits and rewrites for draft 3 of Blood Feud. That will be about 45,000 to 50,000 words to get through. I plan to write for at least 2 hours a day and sift through at least 1,700 words a day. Say What?! That’s a lot to get though in one month. I can’t do it! I know I can! I’ve done it before. Three times before. Woot! Woot!

There it is, my commitment for November. Now the only question is… will you be committing to NaNoWriMo too? If you are and need some encouragement along the way, stop by Writer 2 Writers (a Facebook writing group dedicated to helping writers write). Come join the fun to help cheer lead others, and boast on how much progress you’re making on your own goal. So let’s get ready. Pour yourself a piping hot mug of cider and snuggle in those warm fuzzy slippers, as the fall writing challenge begins. And let’s write!

 

Note: I will attempt to schedule enough posts to keep my usual once a week posts coming out, but if I miss a week or two or three, you now know why. Happy writing to everyone!

 

