NaNoWriMo Challenge Success!

It’s December! Already? Where did November go? It might be that I was so busy writing I just didn’t notice the time passing, or perhaps someone sped up time with a mysterious blue box and forgot to send me a message. Who knows. All I know is it went by way too fast, but even despite the speed in which thirty days flew by, I still managed to reach my NaNoWriMo goals. Well mostly.

At the end of October, I decided to take part in NaNoWriMo unofficially because I needed to bridge a huge gap in my third draft. To make a long (and boring) story short, I ended up cutting out about three quarters of Blood Feud (moving the cut parts to books 2 and 3) and adding back in seventeen chapters worth of information. I did this massive change after a lot of consideration, and wonderfully, brutally honest input from a few of my beta readers. I did this in the hopes to slow the story down and give the characters a chance to grow more fully. I think it boiled down to me trying to rush the story in my anxiousness to get it all down, but at least the sequels (books 2 and 3) to Blood Feud are practically written already. Well mostly. Ha ha ha… Anyways, that was my goal for NaNoWriMo to finish bridging that gap.

And I did!!! True, my word goal of 50,000 words wasn’t met. I only reached 44,000 words. But I didn’t know how many words it would take to finish, and it seems that 44,000 words was the magic number. I now have a patchwork quilt with a decent beginning third draft, a fairly crappy first draft in the middle (the stuff I added in November), and a so-so second draft ending. Guess what that means? Now I need to go through in a second pass and make it all nice and pretty, at the very least make it all third draft quality. But that’s for another goal challenge. For at least a few days, I’m going to enjoy the victory. Yay!

Anyways, all this boils down to me writing like a crazy person, so much so that I totally skipped out on doing blog posts the last two weeks of November. Oops… my bad. I wonder if I can get that blue box to turn back time and let me slip in those two posts. No? Well, then I guess I’m just going to have to make sure I don’t miss a Monday post in December, huh?

That’s my goal for December, making sure the five Mondays (it’s five, I just checked) all have posts. And after that… well who knows. All I know is Blood Feud and I need to part ways for a bit, so I can get back some perspective and not hate everything about the story. So that’s my NaNoWriMo success for 2013. How about you? Did you make your goal too?

