What’s in Store for 2014?

I can’t believe it’s a new year. What happened to 2013? Well, it’s gone for better or for worse. Now I have to decide what I will accomplish in this new year. After answering the question, Did I Make my Goals for 2013?, it’s now time to set a new course for the new year. I don’t see myself adding much to what I already am doing. So far it seems to be working. Why fix something that isn’t broken? So here is a baseline of what I will be trying to accomplish in 2014.

Read

Yeah, I say this every year. I need to read more. And I will continue listing this as a goal, because of how important it is to my writing journey. If I don’t read, then my writing will never get anywhere (and this is true for every writer). I also haven’t picked up a book in the last month, so this is my kick in the butt to start reading again. *Wham!*

Editing

I would like to take my editing to the next level and begin to look at working as an editor at a small press on a part time basis. I have been struggling with whether this is a step I wanted to take, because I know that doing so will take away from my regular writing time. But after a lot of thought, I’ve decided this would be a good thing to try, not only for what I can learn about my own writing, but the benefits it would have in networking and beefing up my editing skills even more.

Blood Feud Novel

It’s the novel that never ends! Or at least I feel that way at times. I’ve been working on the novel for so long (about a year and a half now), I feel like it’s been closer to an eternity. My goal for January is to finish up the third draft. I then want to send it to beta readers so I can begin the fourth draft sometime in the spring. I would love to finish Blood Feud completely by the end of 2014, but it will take as long as it takes to make it right. This book has morphed into a complex story that requires a lot of thought and research, so we shall see where it takes me. For now, I’m enjoy the journey of writing the story of Adar Zahn and the intriguing world that surrounds him.

Short Stories and Novella

I want to continue to challenge myself with writing new short stories. I also want to finish some of the stories I started last year, including the novella Savage Planet. I plan on submitting to Writers of the Future Contest again this year, and I’d like to try submitting to some other contests just for fun.

Blogging

I feel like I have a good thing going with posting once a week. Sometimes I have managed to post more than that, and some months I even post a Quote of the Week. Ultimately, I would love to do two regular (not counting Quote of the Week) posts a week. But I find that goal hard to maintain when I am deep into my fiction writing. I won’t make a promise I can’t keep, so for now it stays as one post a week.

Writing Conventions

I would like to go to at least two writing conventions this year. I would love to do Context again, and I have also considered doing RavenCon too. We will see what happens. This is mostly restricted to what funds I have available and whether I can get someone to watch my son while I am gone. Regardless, I hope I can pull it off. I find that writing conventions are a great tool for writers, not only does it help in writing, but also it is a wonderful way to network with publishers, editors, and other writers.

The Writing Journey

Whatever I do manage to accomplish in 2014 it will move me forward on the continuing path of my writing journey. This journey has been an enlightening experience that I have enjoyed immensely for the last eight years. It has certainly been one of the most fulfilling things I have ever done. I look forward to the challenges ahead. I will embrace them and rise above them. I will seek to be better in everything I do. I will allow myself the openness to discover new things, and I will enjoy the journey wherever it might take me.

How about you? What are your writing goals for 2014? Feel free to share in the comment section below.

