Third Draft Success!

I finally did it! After writing and rewriting and editing, I finally finished the third draft of my novel, and it only took seven long months to do it! lol… Honestly, this was the hardest draft yet, because I had to make some difficult choices that I’ve been ignoring for far too long and change a whole heaping lot of the original story. But I am glad I did, because as I rewrote the ending scene last night at about midnight, I realized how perfect it all flows now. Sure, there are a lot of little things that need fixing, some minor holes that need to be filled, and other things that I rushed to get through or overlooked entirely just so I could fix the big important stuff. But it sings to me now and even though I have loved this story from the moment I conceived it, it’s never sung to me like this. And it’s an incredible feeling.

As this will be the first novel I will complete in its entirety, because my other three  attempts were never meant to be no matter how hard I tried, I am excited for what lies ahead. I already know a lot of what I want to work on for my fourth draft. Things I need to work on and things I know I will need to work on once I get feedback from my beta readers. But none of what I do will be as invasive as the draft I just finished, so if I could do that and get to the end and live through it, I can do anything. The future looks like a bright shining toy that I can’t wait to play with.

But in the meantime, it’s time for a well deserved break from my fiction work. And yes, it hasn’t escaped my attention that I have missed posting blogs for the last three Mondays in a row. Sorry, I was rocking it with Blood Feud and pushing through to the end no matter what (not that my husband and son were to happy about that mind you, oh well, they lived through it too :)). I had hoped to be done by the first of April. April Fools on me! I missed the mark by three days, oops. Hey, it’s done.

And now that it’s done, I would like to pick up the slack on my blog. So expect some regular postings for a bit while I kick up my feet and relax. Okay, so maybe I won’t be relaxing so much as moving on to other things for a while. I plan on starting up the fourth draft of Blood Feud sometime late spring or early summer, but until then there’s a whole lot of other things I can do, and one of them is seeing about scrounging up some fun posts for you guys. See you next Monday!

 

2 thoughts on “Third Draft Success!

    • Thanks! It feels great. Now enjoying some down time and getting back the fuel to do it all over again with draft 4 (well, I’m hoping the next draft won’t be so intense).

Comments are closed.