Learning About WordPress

wordpress-for-dummiesYou might have noticed a few new posts or changes I’ve made to this blog in the last week. That’s because I’ve decided to get more into WordPress and learn everything I can about the program. I did this for several reasons; to enhance my own writing blog, and to enhance my available skills for my freelancing business.

In this endeavor, I purchased the book WordPress All-in-One for Dummies by Lisa Sabin-Wislon. It’s a really great book and will tell you everything you’ll pretty much need to know about WordPress. The book is centered around the WordPress.org system, but can be used to figure out the WordPress.com as well (for those who don’t know the difference, WordPress.org is a fully encompassing Content Management System for building and maintaining websites, while WordPress.com is a hosted blogging platform for those looking for simplicity and less technical headaches).

Anyways, I’m the kind of person who doesn’t balk at a technical challenge and my answer to learning new things is to dive in head first and get right to business. When I first started this WordPress blog, I was looking for simple and less work, because I wanted to focus mainly on my writing. So I jumped right into WordPress.com and set up my blog just by winging it. Presto! Two hours later, I had my brand new shining blog. Just like that. I learned what I needed to get me around, and I was happy.

Now I’ve come up for air from all my writing to take a look around, and realize I want to do a lot more than just get by. I want to know it all, because WordPress is awesome! It’s an amazing tool, and as I read Lisa’s book, I realized that it’s even more awesome than I first thought. What can be done with the program is just mind blowing, and if you know a little coding (like I do), a heck of a lot more can be accomplished.

So don’t be surprised if you see some more changes around here. In fact, I plan on making a migration over to WordPress.org sometime in May. I’ll let you know more about that as I finish up my plans for a new website. The website will be mostly dedicated to my freelance business, but I will have a blog attached. I have yet to decide if I want to migrate this blog over to WordPress.org or not. We shall see what happens.

Until then, I hope you enjoy the changes. If you have comments about some of the changes, feel free to speak up and let me know. I’m interested in knowing what you think!

 

3 thoughts on “Learning About WordPress

  1. Woot! Have fun!!

    The other big thing to consider with a wordpress.com vs org – is it is easy to follow the .com site and it ranks higher in google search.

    I have a .com powered blog (mtphoto.us) and I always struggling with getting an easy way for people to follow it. I had lots of freedom with it and add some adsense on there but it never got the big hits unless I brought in the traffic from Facebook or G+.

    Right now it putters along at 50 to 100 views a day. My wordress.com site usually gets 400 – 1500 views a day. It’s got much better ranking in google search and it’s easier to follow and reshare.

Comments are closed.