Looking Back on 2014

I sat down with the intention of doing a review of the year and the things I accomplished in 2014. I do this every year. Mostly for myself to let me know what I have done and it gives me a springboard for where I want to go in the new year. And when I sat down to start writing this post, I thought, “damn, where do I start?”

For me 2014 has been a turbulent year with a lot of things going on. Maybe not specifically in the writing area, but with me personally (which in it’s way does have an affect on my writing good and bad).

First let’s talk about the bad.

This is the first year in quite awhile that I have written so little. I’ve taken weeks, even a few months off writing at a time to deal with the issues going on in my life. So production wise, I haven’t been writing as much as I normally have in the past. That being said, I still managed to get the entire third draft of my novel done as well as half of the fourth draft. I have also worked on no less than four short stories and on one novella. So I suppose things could be worse.

Now for the good.

Each time I took a “break” from writing, I managed to come back stronger than before. I might not have written as much as I had in past years, but what I did write was at a higher quality. So if that isn’t progress, I don’t know what is. lol…

Other things I have accomplished in 2014…

1. Being more regular with my blog posts. Okay, so I haven’t done a post every single week of this year, but I did manage to post most weeks in 2014. And there were a few weeks I even managed to pump out two posts a week. Ha! Take that blogging world!

2. January 2015 will mark a full year that I have been doing paid editing work. Can I get a hell yeah!

3. I also took the plunge and decided to become a slush reader for Apex Magazine. Yep, I sure did, because obviously I don’t have nearly enough stuff to keep me occupied. lol…

4. Ooh, and I’ve been reading a lot more since I joined a book club back in September. And man, it’s been super awesome fun!

And on a sad note…

After two years, I decided to close my writing critique group. This was a hard decision for me to make, but ultimately I found it a necessary choice. I needed a break and I also needed a “push” to get out and find a new group. It takes a lot of work and dedication to run a group, and I no longer felt I had the proper drive to be “in charge” anymore. I want to find a group where I can be one of a crowd and let someone else make the decisions for awhile. Perhaps, one day I will bring my critique group back, when I am ready.

Let’s end things on a happy note…

I have had a great time meeting with old writing friends at Context 27 and conversing with new writing friends that I have made this year. It truly is a wonderful thing to be able to share my writing zeal with others who understand and appreciate my passion. It makes writing all the more fun.

Check out what I have planned for my writing journey in 2015!

So what are some awesome things that you did in 2014?

 

