Goals for 2015

As always I like to make a few goals for myself for the new year. I like to cement it here on my blog for accountability, but also I feel when I put something in writing I am more likely to get it done. I try not to go overboard and do unrealistic goals that I couldn’t get done in five years if I tried. In fact, this year I am keeping it simple with just a few things I want to try for, but they are significant to me.

Goal 1… And I know I’ve been saying this for the last two years, but for once I really do see this as a possibility… finish my novel Blood Feud. I’m at the halfway point in the fourth draft. All I have to do is finish the fourth draft and go through and do a quick polish draft and it will be DONE. I think it’s very reasonable to think I can get all that done in 2015.

Goal 2… Since I did so well in 2014 in posting a post almost every week, I want to up my game just a little and do two posts a week. I know this will be pushing my limits just a little, but I think I can do it especially considering the idea I have for my second post each week.

Since I’ve been reading like crazy the last few months (thanks to me keeping up with my 2014 goal of wanting to read more), I have accumulated a lot of opinions about the books I’ve read. So I’d like to start doing a book review post every Friday (starting next Friday). I already have a few written in fact and I can’t wait to share.

And Goal 3… Join a writers group. Since I decided to quit my writing critique group I feel like I should fill the void and join a writing group. I have my eye on a few but so far it’s been a matter of syncing my schedule with the times that the groups are meeting. So yeah, I need to work on that.

And that’s it for my goals for 2015. It doesn’t seem like a lot, but considering all the other stuff I have going on, this will be a stretch for me. But that’s good. It’s good to stretch out and see what can be done. Like Ralph Waldo Emerson says…

“Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful.”

So what challenges are you placing before yourself for 2015?

5 thoughts on “Goals for 2015

  1. Your first two goals very much resonate with me. Just replace the name of your novel with mine and — yep, looks good. I haven’t really thought about finding a writing group but it’s an interesting idea, I might put it on the list.
    I think setting up fewer goals is actually a good strategy, it will make achieving those goals much easier because they don’t get lost under all the other stuff that needs to be done.
    Good luck to you!

    • Thanks! Yes, I think you’re totally right fewer goals are better and easier to reach. I used to have a whole list every year and I realized it’s not the length of the list that matters but the ability to actually reach said goals.

      And this is the first time in six years that I’m not actively part of a writing group. It feels strange. Granted I now have writing friends made from being part of writing groups, so I don’t feel as desperate to have that writing camaraderie. But I also know I wouldn’t be as far along in my writing without the benefit of being in a writing group. The problem is finding the time to go to meetings and also finding a group that meets my needs.

      Good luck to you on your goals! And your novel! May 2015 be a productive year for you. 🙂

      • I don’t have a writing group but I’m in a skype group with other writers and we chat a bit during the day and while we write. It makes the writing less lonely but it’s not so demanding on my time like a “real” group with meetings would be.

    • Thanks!

      Funny how that works out isn’t it? I find I am hard on myself throughout the year because I feel like I don’t get enough done, but always when I look back to what I actually did through the year I am pleasantly surprised with my accomplishments. It’s a good feeling.

      Good luck to making your goals and meeting them in 2015!

Comments are closed.