Hello There, Stranger!

Wow! I just checked the date on my last post. March 30th. I knew it had been awhile, but I didn’t know it’d been that long. So sorry to you and myself. I really had not intended to stay away from my blog that long. What can I say? Life got in the way.

Two major things really.

One, in the last few months, I have been going through some incredible changes in my personal life (and in extension in my overall health as well). Some of it’s been easy (no not really), some of it’s been hard like really freaking awful hard, but all of it has been very much needed and long over due. In doing all that soul searching and reflection, it’s left little time to do well… a lot (and not just blogging either).

In all my reflection, it’s also put things in perspective for me and made me see what was really important. And while I do like to work on my blog, in the grand scheme of things, blogging is down near the bottom of stuff I really should be doing (so sorry, the truth hurts I know).

That being said, I do want to start working on my blog more regularly. And since I will be taking a break from major writing over the summer, I just might have the time to get back into the swing of things.

This leads me to reason number two that I’ve been such a hermit on the blog and to the world in general (yes, I’ve even been shunning friends and extended family because of this one). I’M ALMOST DONE WITH MY NOVEL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It seems in the grand scheme of things, my novel has taken large precedence in my life (just second after my husband and son of course lol…). In the last two months, I have not only finished the fourth draft, but am very close to finishing the last and final draft. I know, I’m a bit in shock at that. To say I’ve done a crap ton of work the last few weeks would be putting it mildly.

Oh and to top all that off, I have also been working on submitting a story to a new anthology coming up called Apple Bites (expect to here more about this awesome collection of stories soon!). I’ve also worked on a teaser image and a cover for the anthology as well (though I do still need to actually finish the cover lol…).  So yeah, it’s been super crazy this spring.

Anyways, my plan is to be done with my novel completely by mid June (and finish the Apple Bites cover soon after that). After all that, it’s a break over the summer so I can catch up on blogging and then in the fall I’ll begin working on book 2 of the Emperors of Ethia series.

At least that’s the plan. But plans and me… well, we don’t always see eye to eye. We sometimes part ways at the damnedest of times, because I assure you a two month drought on my blog had never been in my “plans”.

Oh and at some point I guess I have to write up a query and synopsis and start shopping my book around. But I’m not apposed to the self-publishing route either. But really that’s not as important to me. The important thing is I’M ALMOST DONE WITH MY NOVEL!

June first will mark two years since I started Blood Feud. Considering the massive rewritings I had to do the first year, I’m a little surprised I’ll manage to get it done in just over two years.

Anyways… moving on…

I have missed doing my book reviews. And while I have not read as much as I did at the beginning of the year or even the end of last year, I’ve still read some awesome books I’d like to tell everyone about. So I shall start my reviews back up in a few weeks.

My normal Monday posts may or may not be weekly. We shall see how things go. It all depends on if I have anything useful to say. That’s debatable sometimes. I confess, there are times were I feel like I just make it all up.

Oh wait… I guess as a fiction writer I do. 😉

 

 

